11 December 2015

Le Mans 24 Hours, 17-18 June 1995.

The monstrous Honda NSX LM GT2s driven by legendary drivers Keiichi Tsuchiya, Akira Iida & Kunimitsu Takahashi. They raced at Le Mans from 1994 to 1996 their best result was in '95 when they finished 1st in the GT2 class.
The 1995 race was won by a McLaren F1 GTR in the GT1 category. The F1 was already well known for dominating the BPR Global GT Series with customer teams, but the car that won was actually the initial GTR prototype that was on loan to Kokusai Kaihatsu Racing. Mario Andretti's Courage finished second, having been the sentimental favourite of many in the run-up to the race. However the reliability of the production-based McLaren helped it defeat the much faster Le Mans prototypes.

2 December 2015

World Superbike Championship Round 9, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, 14 July 2002

The 2002 Superbike World Championshipis always remembered as the season in which Troy Bayliss and Colin Edwards fought in classic style for the title. Round 9 at Laguna Seca reflected this, as the duo shared the two wins. While Edwards set pole (and Noriyuki Haga the fastest lap), Bayliss on the Ducati Infostrada won the first race, with Edwards on the Castrol Honda winning race 2.
Edwards did have the last laugh, as he won the championship that year.

Photo by Tom Hnatiw